New Beginnings Chalk/Clay Paint Powder

Send me your best idea for refinishing an old piece of furniture and you could win a jar of this amazing latex paint additive. I love it and asked Judy, the founder of the company, to share her story with instructions on how to best use the product. Enjoy!

Meg Caswell's FOREVER JAR

A Little About Me And How This Beautiful Journey Started

From the time I was a little girl, my Mom, Grandma Lorna, encouraged me to be creative. I remember her being in the kitchen, mixing something in a bowl and then adding paint that she had leftover from painting something else. I asked her why she added “stuff” to the paint, she said, ” Because it makes it stronger”.  Since I was the youngest of 5 girls, I was home with Mom sometimes during the day, and had one-on-one time with her. It was great; she would give me a paint brush and let me dip it in the paint, then she would place her hand over mine, and show me how to paint a piece of furniture, she would say, ” now make sure you go in this direction.” She would show me different tricks, if you didn’t want paint to stick in certain areas, she would take Vaseline and a q-tip and rub it in the areas she didn’t want the paint to stick, it was like magic to me when I was little. 🙂 I thought wow, my Mom is a genius. 🙂

What is “New Beginnings™”? it is a piece of my life, it is Love to me, memories of my beautiful Mom, Grandma Lorna, and the time spent with her, learning to do something, she, now I LOVE to do. I know that it works, I have experienced it my entire life. And it also keeps your leftover latex paints from going to the hazardous collection sites and save you money in the mean time. Once you have finished your painting, seal it with a thin coat or two of paste wax,let it dry to a haze and buff in between each coat, the brand is not important, I have tried them all and they work the same. Once I sell the product to you, that is not the end. I am here to answer any questions you have and proudly post your pictures of your finished pieces. I love to see a piece of furniture artfully restored and bring smiles to peoples faces. Thank you so much for your business and for giving a piece of furniture another chance. Keep things out of the landfills. Make it a family memory, find a piece you want to paint, invite your child, grandchild, best friend over, make memories together. And don’t forget, each piece you paint, sign and date it, when the next person 50-100 years from now decides to make memories with their loved ones, they will love to see the name and date of the person that loved it before them. 🙂

All my love and best memories, Judy

Mixing instructions are included with each package.

PREP IS IMPORTANT BEFORE PAINTING A PIECE!

ALWAYS be sure to clean your piece before starting. There is always going to be furniture polish or oils from your hands on an older piece. I always use original Mineral Spirits (the clear one) to wipe my pieces down. If there is a VERY HIGH GLOSS finish, I suggest you sand or prime those pieces. You will find this in the laminate pieces. Although New Beginnings is a fantastic product, nothing will stick to laminate without priming it. NO CHALK PAINT WILL STICK TO LAMINATE WITHOUT PRIMING IT FIRST, no matter what the companies tell you. I have been working with my product my entire life and I can tell you from experience. If you need any help with this, please feel free to email me and I will walk you through it.

MIXING INSTRUCTIONS:

1/2 tablespoon New Beginnings™ Chalk/Clay Paint Powder Additive

1/4 Cup HOT tap water

In bowl, whisk together until smooth. Add 1 cup Interior Latex water base paint, flat or matte finish, whisk until smooth. If too thick add small amount of HOT water a little at a time. You are ready to paint. Makes: 1 cup of paint. Store paint in airtight container. Keep out of reach of children

My Etsy Store: http://www.etsy.com/shop/NewBeginningsTM?ref=search_shop_redirect

My Store Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Grandma-Lornas-Attic/201657496528071

New Beginnings Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/New-Beginnings-ChalkClay-Paint-Powder-Additive/513594155348864?ref=hl

Email address: bruckjudy@yahoo.com

Leave a comment